Trending: an Overcoat-less winter?

It’s December and snow is on the ground in the Northeast.  Winter is here for a while.  The holidays, skiing, and sipping port by the fire are all things I look forward to, but the day to day “Winter Tax” is well, taxing.

Winter Tax – all the extra stuff that’s necessary for day to day living in cold climates.  Hats, scarves, boots, overcoats and gloves come out of the closets.  You need a scraper and a shovel if you own a car.   You have to constantly stomp your feet at the door to keep the salt off the floors.  (I once hosted a New Years party during an ice storm, and over-salted the walk-way, so no one would slip.  I’m still finding the occasional crystal near the corner molding).

Unlike the looming cliff talk, this tax is already here.  Is there a means to lighten the load?  Perhaps.

I will attempt this season to shed the overcoat.

A suit + scarf, hat, and gloves can keep one perfectly warm – up to a point.  I have pulled this off successfully this season, without being the least bit cold.  This has worked with light snow, and in 29-degree weather.  I will keep pushing this limit, until I reach chill point.  (Aside – a winter fedora will not mess up and will protect setting hair cream from precipitation as well)

Note – I HATE being cold.  So my chill point is conservative.

Once I hit the chill point, I will try the newly fashionable “field vest”.

gq-endorses-coatless-winter-3gq-endorses-coatless-winter-1gq-endorses-coatless-winter-4

The modern insulates are so thin, the vest will fit under the suit jacket.  No more bulky than a sweater.  Yes, it’s an extra piece of clothing, but it’s sooo much less bulky than the winter topcoat, and you won’t be confused with a Siberian prison guard.  These vests are everywhere and cheap.  I have one from Lands End, but am on the prowl for another.

Now the super cold and pounds of falling flakes may still call for the dreaded 10-pound overcoat, but at least that will be a rare occasion.

Thoughts?  Give it a try and share your experiences here.

About homerstyle

Homerstyle about living life to its fullest – in style. It’s about fashion, events, decorating, cocktailing, food, but most importantly – attitude and confidence. Make a statement in life. Sometimes I create something new. More than often, I see an outfit, or watch a bartender make something new. Then, I make it my own. I love couture, but I’m budget conscious too. As an example, I love outfits. There’s an outfit for every occasion – work, the golf course, out on the town – even reading the paper on Sundays. Confidence is simply not afraid to be embarrassed. Everyone can marry those two concepts - Attitude and Confidence.

One response to “Trending: an Overcoat-less winter?

  1. Pingback: Tis the season for Sales: Focus on (not-so) puffy vests. « homerstyle

Leave a Reply

